Australia defeats New Zealand by eight wickets to win the T20 trophy

Australia beat New Zealand by 8 wickets in the Men’s T20 World Cup final on Sunday in Dubai, making it the very first time for their team to lift the T20 World Cup trophy in the history of the tournament.

Australian batter Mitchell Marsh was declared the Player of the Match for his unbeaten 77.

Meanwhile, the Player of the Tournament was awarded to Aussie opening batter, David Warner.

Australia had won the toss and decided to field first.

The two teams had played a match together only once before in the T20 World Cup history when New Zealand defeated Australia by 8 runs in India.

Displaying an impressive start, New Zealand opening batter Martin Guptill struck a four on the very second ball of the first over but lost their first wicket at 28 runs when Daryl Mitchell was sent back to the pavilion by Josh Hazlewood towards the end of the 3rd over.

Source link